Catalog Creepin’ — Simon & Schuster Summer 2013

Catalog Creepin’ is a feature here at The Perpetual Page-Turner that was inspired by the “Books to Pine For” feature over at Kristi’s blog and really fueled by my obsession with scouring catalogs from my favorite publishers to see what upcoming books I should be adding to my already-ready-to-topple-over To Be Read list. Each Catalog Creepin’ post will spotlight a different catalog from my favorite publishers and their imprints. I won’t be covering all publishers — just my personal favorites whether they be the big honchos or smaller publishing houses.

YOUNG ADULT

 

 

12578313

 
Golden by Jessi Kirby (May 14th 2013 – Add To Goodreads)

You all know my love for Jessi Kirby’s previous works — Moonglass & In Honor — and Golden is EASILY one of my most anticipated books for 2013! I’ve already heard amaaaazing things and I am not so patiently awaiting its release. Anything she writes I will read.

 

 

 

 

13326677

OCD Love Story by Corey Ann Haydu (July 23rd 2013 – Add To Goodreads)

I’ve never really read a book about OCD so I’m interested in that perspective and it sounds like an interesting story about a girl who is obsessed (watches him, has journals full of notes) with a guy who doesn’t know she exists and it seems her obsession spirals out of control.

 

 

 

15805597

 

The book Of  Broken Hearts by Sarah Ockler (May 21st 2013 – Add To Goodreads)

I loved Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler & this one sounds fabulous! The older sisters of the MC, Jude, have taught her a lot but the most important is to stay away from the Vargas brothers — all of whom will break your heart she learns from her sisters dating past with them. She finds herself having to deal with a Vargas brother when she needs a mechanic but she vows that she won’t fall for his tricks. Until she starts to…

 

 

 

14999965

Linked by Imogen Howson (June 11th 2013-  Add to  Goodreads)

CLEARLY I am obsessed with these types of stories for 2013 but this SERIOUSLY looks so good. The MC starts getting these mysterious bruises and pains accompanied with horrible visions that lead her to find out she has a twin sister whom the government is trying to capture to keep quiet. I’m so excited to see if they are clones or in parallel type worlds or WHAT. I have a feeling this is going to be GOOD!

 

 

 

 

15802883

 

How My Summer Went Up In Flames (May 7, 2013 – Add To Goodreads)

I’ve already expressed my excitement for this on my 2013 debuts I’m most excited for post but I have to express it again! ROAD TRIP! And the girl sets her ex boyfriend’s car on fire and gets a restraining order. I would have loved that sort of revenge for some jerkface guys who cared about their cool cars!

 

 

 

 

 

16074739

Thorn Abbey by Nancy Ohlin (May 7th 2013 – Add To Goodreads)

A retelling of Rebecca?! Please don’t let  me down! Plus boarding school setting!

 

 

 

 

16074758

 

Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas (July 16th, 2013 – Add  To Goodreads)

This sounds intense and like something I definitely heard about on the news! Spring break in Aruba, the MC’s best friend is murdered and she’s stuck in Aruba being accused of brutally murdering her. She tries to figure out who murdered her friend and stumbles upon some shocking revelations and truths.

 

 

 

 

 

 

16074827

A Moment Comes by Jennifer Bradbury (June 25th 2013 – Add To Goodreads)

I love historical fiction but haven’t  really read  much lately and I was really intrigued by this one when I saw it in the catalog! Plus it  is set in India! The description in the catalog is much more intriguing than what is on  Goodreads right  now!

 

 

 

 

 

16074995

Over You by Amy Reed (June 25th 2013 – Add To Goodreads)

This one looks like an interesting contemp with some verrryyy interesting  friendship dynamics. It seems like maybe there are some control issues behind the typical “you can only be my bff” type stuff.

 

 

 

 

 

 

ADULT

16130324

 

 

 Children of the Jacaranda Tree  by Sahar Jeligiani (June 18th 2013 – Add To Goodreads)

I really just love books set in the Middle East — partly because I feel like I know nothing culturally and historically and I like to learn! This one says for fans of The Kite Runner and I remember enjoying that quite a lot so we will see!

 

 

 

16130472

 

The Why Of Things by Elizabeth Huntley Winthrop (June 25th 2013 – Add to Goodreads)

I’m incredibly confused because the book cover calls this book The Why of Things and the Goodreads I was linked to from the catalog calls this book After The Sun Stood Still. Either way, this book sounds good! A family dealing with the crushing grief and aftermath of their teenage daughter’s suicide goes to their summer home to find themselves in the midst of another tragedy as a young man appears to have driven straight into their quarry and the family finds themselves caught up in the details of this victim’s story.

 

 

 

 

Which ones are you most excited for?? Any other 2013 releases from Simon & Schuster & their imprints that may have flown off my radar?

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

About Jamie

Jamie is a 28 year old married lady who is in denial that she's actually that old. When she's not reading you can find her doing Pilates followed by eating gelato, listening to music with oversized headphones and teaching her niece how to be as awesome as she is.

Comments

  1. I’m interested to see how the OCD is handled in OCD Love Story – plus, love the fact that unlike most YA “issue books” that one has such a bright, cheerful cover!

  2. If you like books about the Middle East you should definitely read Reading Lolita in Tehran by Azar Nafisi. It’s a beautiful memoir. Also I haven’t read this one yet but I’ve given it to friends and they’ve enjoyed it a lot. It’s called Rooftops of Tehran by Mahbod Seraji. It’s told from a male perspective about the Iranian Revolution. It’s a love story, but a really beautiful one according to my friends :).

  3. WOW! They all sound great! A few of them I´ve never heard of and will need to add to my TBR. Thanks for sharing!

  4. I added about three from this list on my TBR. Such an eclectic group! Which I like a lot. Oh Jamie, you are DANGEROUS. :)

  5. OCD Love Story sounds great. I wonder how much OCD will work its way into the plot. Great feature :) I love all your features xD

  6. Wow, OCD Love Story sounds terrific and as you, I have’t read anything about it.

    Thanks for sharing it :)

  7. A retelling of Rebecca??? Interesting! I will have to look into that one, Rebecca is favourite book. Lots of other interesting looking books too!

  8. I have definitely added some new books to my TBR pile. I am super curious about Linked and The Book of Broken Hearts. They all sound great though.

    Sara @ Just Another Story

  9. Um…holy gorgeous cover for A Moment Comes! I wish there were more on Goodreads atm, but I’ll add that one to my TBR for cover points alone.

  10. Your Catalog Creepin’ posts are the best and worst thing for my TBR, depending on how you look at it. Thanks for letting me know about Thorn Abbey and Linked!

  11. Thank you for including THORN ABBEY on this awesome list! I can’t wait to read the rest of the books, too.

  12. A Moment Comes was really good! I agree that the description doesn’t do it justice. I am looking forward to reading a bunch of these, especially Golden, Thorn Abbey, and The Book of Broken Hearts especially. I will have to check out Children of the Jacaranda Tree as I love Khaled Hosseini’s books (and can’t wait for his new one later this year)

  13. I haven’t checked out the upcoming novels yet, but Simon is one of my favorite publishers. So many great books are put out by them (although, I don’t know much about their YA).

  14. Thorn Abbey sounds really good! You always give the best recs. I’ll be adding this one for sure even though it might kill me to know it’s a re-telling and I haven’t gotten a chance to read Rebecca yet…shame on me

  15. Oh Jamie, you are such an enabler. I literally added 90% of this list to my Goodreads just now – mostly because the titles are too intriguing/fantastic to pass up!

  16. I’m REALLY intrigued by Children of the Jacaranda Tree and A Moment Comes, especially since they have really unique settings. I haven’t read many books about either place! Glad you included them both on here :)

Trackbacks

  1. […] I have been anxiously awaiting and anticipating Dangerous Girls since Jamie’s January Catalog Creepin’ post. […]

Comment Policy:

Thank you so much for reaching out to me via comment. Seriously, it makes my day. I appreciate and read EVERY SINGLE comment. I do try real hard to reply to comments but I'm not able to do so daily and sometimes I get very behind because...well..life. You know how it goes sometimes! If I haven't replied back to you, feel free to tweet me so we can chat further as sometimes that is easier for me to get to when I'm on the go!

Speak Your Mind

*