Catalog Creepin’ — HarperCollins Fall 2013 Catalog

Catalog Creepin’ is a feature here at The Perpetual Page-Turner that was inspired by the “Books to Pine For” feature over at Kristi’s blog and really fueled by my obsession with scouring catalogs from my favorite publishers to see what upcoming books I should be adding to my already-ready-to-topple-over To Be Read list. Each Catalog Creepin’ post will spotlight a different catalog from my favorite publishers and their imprints. I won’t be covering all publishers — just my personal favorites whether they be the big honchos or smaller publishing houses.

YOUNG ADULT

 

 

Asylum by Madeleine Roux

 
Asylum by Madeleine Roux (August 27th 2013 – Add To Goodreads)

THIS LOOKS SO CREEPY. Hidden secrets in an old mental asylum?? Plus apparently there are photos and letters integrated into it and, though I haven’t read it but it’s on my TBR list, it’s likened a bit to Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. Seems like a good read for people who like creepy mystery types and maybe a little WTFery!

 

 

 

The Burning Sky trilogy by Sherry Thomas

 

The Burning Sky by Sherry Thomas (September 17th  2013 – Add To Goodreads)

I’m super new to the fantasy genre but this one sounds really good! It says for fans of Kristin Cashore & Cinda Williams Chima who I obviously need to read first now that I’m no longer afraid of fantasy anymore!

 

 

 

Not A  Drop To Drink by Mindy McGinnis

 

Not A Drop To Drink by Mindy McGinnis (September 10th 2013 – Add To Goodreads)

This sounds so good! I LOVE survival type stories. One of my biggest fears in life is that the water runs out and it kind of sounds like that’s the case in this future story. The MC, Lynn, has a pond that she defends and protects — never needing to go to the outside — but signs of outsiders arriving threaten her. I think this one is going to be GREAT!

 

 

 

3:59 by Gretchen McNeil

3:59 by Gretchen McNeil (September 17th 2013-  Add to  Goodreads)

I just have this obsession with parallel world/lives types stories, you guys, so I’m so glad it’s becoming a THING (though let’s be honest…I’ll probs tire of it after a while). This one sounds so good and from reading Ten by Gretchen McNeil I know she does suspense well SO YAY!

 

 

 

 

The Brokenhearted by Amelia Kahaney

 

The Brokenhearted by Amelia Kahaney (October 8th 2013 – Add To Goodreads)

All I saw was that the girl lives in a Gotham style Chicago and becomes a superhero/bionic girl. UM YEAH. I added that ish so fast. I also saw a blurb that said The Dark Knight meets Cinder so that sounds interesting!

 

 

 

 

 

Hideous Love by Stephanie Hemphill

Hideous Love by Stephanie Hemphill (October 1st 2013 – Add To Goodreads)

I LOVE FRANKENSTEIN. I am so fascinated by the author of Frankenstein — Mary Shelley. Always have been. This is a free-verse novel about her love story that inspired her to write Frankenstein.

 

 

 

 

Across A Star-Swept Sea by Diana Peterfreund

 

Across A Star-Swept Sea by Diana Peterfreund (October 15th, 2013 – Add  To Goodreads)

OMG OMG OMG OMG! First of all, this book comes out on my birthday. YES! Secondly, you know much I LOVED For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfreund so I am over the moon about this one. It’s set in the same world as FDSTS but different characters and on a different island….and this one is a retelling of The Scarlet Pimpernel. I honestly don’t know what else you could say about this book to make me more excited!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Image1gg

How To Love by Katie Cotugno (October 1st 2013 – Add To Goodreads)

I’m not going to lie — I’m pretty much always nervous about pregnancy in teen lit but I’m giving this a chance! The MC has a whirlwind, complicated romance with a guy she’s always loved but whom she never thought had ever glanced her way. He mysteriously leaves town and she’s pregnant. Three years later, she’s handling being a mom and then the guy walks back in her life.

 

 

 

ADULT

We Are Water by Wally Lamb - new Wally Lamb book

 

 

 We Are Water by Wally Lamb (October 29th 2013 – Add To Goodreads)

I really enjoyed Wally Lamb’s The Hour I First Believed. He writes these amazingly layers stories about family and love and life and this one sounds like it is no exception. The MC has been a mother and wife for 27 years until she drops a bombshell on her family that she has fallen in love with a woman and they plan to be wed. The upcoming marriage brings up a whole host of questions and secrets and truth as everyone is trying to move forward and understand what was going all those years before.

 

 

 

9780060779634_0_Cover

 

Help for the Haunted by John Searles (September 17th 2013 – Add to Goodreads)

This sounds so good! Sylvie’s parents have an unusual occupation — they help the haunted move into a place of peace. One night they get a call in the middle of the night and they pack little Sylvie up into the car while they go meet someone at a church only to fall asleep and wake up to gunfire and the loss of her parents. The book seems to flip back and forth from that time to the present as Sylvie is a little older and living with her older sister and trying to grapple with this loss and figure out what exactly happened to her parents.

 

 

9780062283016_0_Cover

Dead Set by Richard Kadrey (October 29th 2013 – Add to Goodreads)

I’m loving ghost-related novels and this sounds so interesting! Zoe and her mom move to a new city after dad passes away. Things are hard and she finds escape in her dreams — a place where she is able to spend time with her lost brother. Something seems to be lurking in her dreams and threatening she and her brother which leads her to a used record shop where there is a portal to the dead and an offer for her to be able to make contact with her dad..but it comes with a price. Zoe struggles with how far she is willing to go and how much she is willing to give just to see her father.

 

 

No Cover & want a little more info about: Early Decision by Lacey Crawford

Which ones are you most excited for?? Any other 2013 releases from HarperCollins & their imprints that may have flown off my radar? ( I realize Divergent #3 comes out…um yeah..I’ll work on reading Divergent. I promise).

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

About Jamie

Jamie is a 28 year old married lady who is in denial that she's actually that old. When she's not reading you can find her doing Pilates followed by eating gelato, listening to music with oversized headphones and teaching her niece how to be as awesome as she is.

Comments

  1. Great picks! I think that The Burning Sky sounds the most interesting (I love high fantasy), but The Brokenhearted looks great too, and has an intriguing summary. I love picking through Goodreads for books that are coming out much later in the year, but I love post like these, too, that let me find them early. :)

    • Yay! Glad you find these helpful!

      I’m so excited for both of those! I’m very new to high fantasy so I’m going to try to read those staple authors first before that one comes out!

  2. I’m very excited for Not a Drop to Drink and 3:59. I love Frankenstein, so definitely on the lookout for Hideous Love. The Burning Sky, Asylum, How To Love and The Brokenhearted all seem pretty interesting. The rest, not so much.

    Sana @ artsy musings of a bibliophile

    • Frankenstein is seriously one of my fave classics! I feel like I want to brush up on my Marry Shelley knowledge before I read it…just because haha

  3. Both Asylum and Dead Set sound amazing! Can’t wait for them to come out!

  4. So many of these books appeal to me!! Asylum, 3:59, Not a Drop to Drink, and dead set are definitely the ones I am most looking forward to. Now waiting a good 6-8 months to read them is goin to be really hard!!

  5. The Brokenhearted looks AWESOME. And of course, I’m so excited for 3:59. Looks like another great season for Harper. Thanks for highlighting their catalog! So excited for fall!

  6. Oh my goodness, I’m so excited for “Not a Drink to Drop” and “3:59″ looks similar to “Do No Harm” the tv show.

  7. Oh god, ASYLUM sounds AH-MAZING. I hope it is everything I wanted from Miss Peregrine’s but did not get — I was pretty disappointed with it.

    I read TEN a few weeks ago & loved it so I’m excited for 3:59.

    Help for the Hunted and Dead Set both sound interesting — I’m going to keep and eye on them :)

    • I haven’t read Miss Peregrine’s but I hope this book is exactly what you were hoping for! I’m hoping it is as good as my expectations for it! haha

  8. Oooo…book lust. Asylum looks great! I enjoyed Miss Peregrine’s quite a bit. I didn’t think the story was perfect, but the format, the images, the eeriness — I was a happy camper. This one does sound similar.

  9. Not a drop to drink and 3:59 look like such great reads. They look creepy yet completely interesting! Can’t wait to read them! Officially on my TBR pile!

  10. I’m a big fan of Sherry Thomas and am looking forwarding to The Burning Sky.

  11. There goes my hopes of keeping my TBR down! Haha. I had several of these on there, but I’m definitely adding a few more. I’m used to really fantastic books from Harper, so I’m psyched for so many of these. Also? The Broken-Hearted. I NEED THIS BOOK NOW. I am a huuuuuge fan of all the Batman films, especially the newest trilogy. So as SOON as I saw “Gotham,” I was like, “oh heck yes.”

    Love these Catalogue Creepin’ posts, chica!

    • Hahah sorrrryyy. My TBR hates me too! So agree about The Broken-hearted. Funny how we see like one word or phrase and it’s like WHO CARES WHAT ELSE IT IS ABOUT. I NEED IT.

      And I’m glad you love them! I love doing them! :)

  12. These all sound awesome! I’ll be reading as many of them as I can

  13. Yay! So excited for Across a Star Swept-Sea.

  14. Melissa @ Writer Grrl Reads says:

    NEW WALLY LAMB???? OMG I just jumped up and down with joy. I love his books, and my only criticism is that he writes waaaaaaaaay too slowly :P

  15. I ADORE YA high fantasy but somehow hadn’t heard of Burning Sky yet – sounds sooo good! I really want to read Across a Star Swept Sea too – I loved For Darkness Shows the Stars.

  16. Wow! I’m totally flattered to have made your list – thanks for featuring me! :)

  17. Holy crap. ALL OF THESE, seriously ALL OF THEM look amazing. I’m LOVING Asylum and Not a Drop to Drink SO MUCH. Also, We are Water is going to DEFINITELY be on my adult tbr, you know I love some adult <3

  18. Can’t wait for the Broken Hearted! Love the cover and the synopsis sounds amazing! Thanks for the recommendations!

  19. So, as per usual, you have me obsessively adding books to my Goodreads to-read shelf. Seriously, you’ve picked some awesome titles on here! I think though that Across a Star-Swept Sea is my favorite. That cover is gorgeous.

  20. Hmmm, I haven’t read a Wally Lamb since She’s Come Undone – granted that’s the only WL I’ve read. Still, I’m up for more of his books like The Hour I First Believed and that one with the baby on the cover. Or maybe those are the same book. Anyways, I’d totally read both.

    Of all the ones on here, I’m most pumped for Across A Star Swept Sea!

  21. ooh, I hadn’t heard about the broken hearted at a all, but it sounds awesome! Thanks for putting it on my radar!

Comment Policy:

Thank you so much for reaching out to me via comment. Seriously, it makes my day. I appreciate and read EVERY SINGLE comment. I do try real hard to reply to comments but I'm not able to do so daily and sometimes I get very behind because...well..life. You know how it goes sometimes! If I haven't replied back to you, feel free to tweet me so we can chat further as sometimes that is easier for me to get to when I'm on the go!

Speak Your Mind

*