Ten Books To Read If You Like THESE Super Popular Books/Authors

Top Ten Tuesday, as  always, is hosted at my other blog — The Broke & the Bookish

This week’s topic: Top Ten Books To Read If You Like These Popular Books/Authors

I decided to do 10 different books/authors rather than a list for just one book or author!

 

 

1. If you like The Fault In Our Stars by John Green….

 

The Fault In our Stars

Read Extraordinary Means by Robin Schneider

 

Extraordinary Means Robyn Schneider

I think writing style-wise and plot it makes a great readalike but Extraordinary Means is SO different than it plus I love that it feels like contemporary but it’s not. I wasn’t as much of an emotional basketcase with EM as I was The Fault In Our Stars so there’s that!

 

2. If you like The Throne of Glass series….

 

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

 

Read Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta

Finnikin of the Rock

One of the most underrated fantasy series everrrrr! It’s a little more like the pacing of Heir of Fire and Queen of Shadows and it doesn’t have quite the romance of Throne of Glass series but if you love great storytelling, kickass females and just epicness….GET ON IT. Definitely my favorite completed fantasy series! I feel for these characters just how I feel for Sarah’s cast of characters — just so in love and PROUD of them. You will root for them as they try to take back their kingdom.

3. If you like Sarah Dessen’s books, read Jessi Kirby’s books:

 

jessikirbybooks

I think Jessi’s books have that same feel of being a ~Sarah Dessen~ book but definitely are their own. Recommend all 4 that she has out — Golden, Moonglass, In Honor and Things We Know By Heart!

4. If you like Divergent…

Divergent

Read Pawn by Aimee Carter:

Pawn Aimee Carter cover and review

I haven’t really been reading much dystopian these days but I liked this one alot and think fans of Divergent would totally dig it! I haven’t read the second installment of either series coincidentally enough so can’t speak for the rest of the series. Definitely a page-turner if you are craving a dystopian!

5. If you liked Gone Girl

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

read Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas:

Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas

Sure, Gone Girl is adult and Dangerous Girls is YA but a good thriller is a good thriller, yeah? I liked the guessing game and the page-turning qualities of both!

 

6. If you like Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

read Not After Everything by Michelle Levy:

Not After Everything Michelle Levy

Here’s the thing, this was such a hard one to come up with a readalike for that I felt lived up to this book. It’s one of my favorites so clearly it hit high marks for things that I love. I think Not After Everything is a ~good~ readalike for it but the writing and everything was just MORE solid for me in E&P if I’m being completely honest. That being said, I think there are things that make it a great readalike if you are reading about two teens who have their own hard stuff going on and find solace in each other. The sadness and intensity I felt about Eleanor’s home situation is how I felt about this main character’s. HEART HURT.

7. If you like Landline by Rainbow Rowell

Landline Rainbow Rowell

read After I Do by Taylor Jenkins Reid & The Status of All Things by Liz Fenton

After I Do by Taylor Jenkins ReidThe Status Of All Things

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I couldn’t choose which one to pick for this one! After I Do is my FAVORITE book out of these 3. It touches on some of the same things Landline does but in a different way re: marriage but I thought what I got out of it was even more profound than Landline which I loved. The Status of All Things also touched on marriage in the same vein of having a ~supernatural~ way of doing things over to repair your relationship/do it over.

8. If you like Wild by Cheryl Strayed

 

12262741

read Happiness For Beginners by Katherine Center

 

Happiness For Beginners

Happiness For Beginners is not as intense or tough as Wild and obviously it’s fiction as opposed to a memoir but facing a tough wilderness adventure + finding yourself…it’s a good readalike!

9. If you like If I Stay by Gayle Forman

 

If I Stay by Gayle Forman

read either The Book of Broken Hearts by Sarah Ockler or The Last Time We Say Goodbye by Cynthia Hand:

 

The book of broken hearts by sarah ocklerThe Last Time We Say Goodbye by Cynthia Hand

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I could have picked a couple of good readalikes for If I Stay but I think these two are solid!

 

10. If you like John Green in general….read Let’s Get Lost by Adi Alsaid & All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Let's Get Los Adi AlsaidAll The Bright Places

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I don’t have a specific reason why…I just read both of these and and I thought “huh I think John Green fans would totally like this” but also you can totally like it if you DON’T like his books.

 

So tell me…do you have any recs for these popular books/authors??

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
About Jamie

Jamie is a 30 year old married lady who is in denial that she's actually that old. When she's not reading you can find her doing Pilates followed by eating ice cream, listening to music with oversized headphones and having adventures with her husband and dog.

Comments

  1. Wow. So many recommendations. What a lot of choices for me. I’m overwhelmed.
    My TTT

  2. Loving your recommendations Jamie. I definitely need to check out Finnikin of The Rock.

    • It’s soooo good! I hate that I don’t have more to read from that world and those characters! It’s a little more slow than ToG but omg it’s amazing.

  3. Wow great list, keen to read Finnikin of the Rock ! my TTT is here

  4. I loved this list! You chose excellent read-a-likes. 🙂 I’m definitely going to check out Happiness for Beginners and the Jessi Kirby books! 🙂

  5. Great choices! I recommended ‘Before I Die’ for lovers of ‘The Fault In Our Stars’ because they both made me bawl my eyes out!

    Check out my Top Ten Tuesday list!

    Also, I am currently running two Giveaways! Click here and here to enter! Good luck!

    Katrina @ Chased By My Imagination

  6. I forgot about Pawn, but always liked that cover. And since I did like Divergent, I’ll have to get that book.

  7. So many of these books are on my to-read list! I need a thousand lifetimes to read everything I want to read…and to write everything I want to write!

    Happy reading and writing! from Laura Marcella @ Wavy Lines

  8. Oh so many recommendations that I need to add to my TBR! I have Let’s Get Lost on my Kindle, but I haven’t read it yet. I need to get on that. I love Rainbow Rowell, so I need to check out those recommendations. 🙂 Here is my top ten list: http://bookbinges.blogspot.it/2015/09/top-ten-tuesday-young-adultadult.html

    • The first “part” is my least favorite part of LGL so if you don’t immediately love it I do say keep going because it gets better and better!

  9. If you liked Gone Girl, then check out The Good Girl by Mary Kubick. I haven’t seen it talked about very much. I listened to it through audible, which made it more suspenseful. Its about a kidnapping (or was it?) in Chicago. Its told from the viewpoint of the victim and captor, as well as the victims mother, and the lead detective.The victim’s POV is unreliable at best, and there’s twists and turns throughout the plot.
    In a similair vein…if you like suspense/thrillers then check out Night Film. This came out a few years ago, but I also didn’t see a ton of hype for it. It’s about an investigative journalist who is trying to figure out if a death was murder or suicide. And the dead girl happens to be the daughter of a weird cult classic director who makes horror films. Great read for October!
    Working all day but hoping to have my TTP up tonight

    Sarah @ thecountrybookworm.com

  10. Great list! I really love Jessi Kirby’s books and they definitely do share something with Sarah Dessen’s books.
    The Last Time We Said Goodbye completely broke my heart!

    • Right?? They just have that SD *feeeeel* to them but are totally their own. My teen cousin has read and reread Sarah Dessen’s books for years and I was like HERE READ THESE and she devoured them and said they were a great way to fill the SD void until she has a new book.

  11. I just added 5 books to my TBR list. Thanks! I think.

  12. Love this post! Thanks for the reccs!

  13. Thanks for the recommendations! I have yet to read many of these!

  14. So if I liked Finnikin of the Rock, I should read Throne of Glass? Really don’t know why I haven’t read ToG yet!

  15. I love posts like this!! My TBR list just got longer!

  16. Great list! I like the way you set it up

  17. MELINA MARCHETTA ALWAYS!

    And yes, Abigail Haas is like the Gillian Flynn for YA. I wish she’d write more!

  18. I’m really intrigued by the Status of All Things! My TTT

  19. Oooh very nice! Great picks! LOVED Divergent and Pawn! Definitely a perfect fit! 😉

    Here’s my Tuesday Post

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower 🙂

  20. I love these! I was noticing covers a lot as I read through this list. “Not After Everything” looks like it’s written on crumpled notebook paper, which reminds me of “Never Always Sometimes” with its balled up notebook paper–and the titles have a similar feel too. And when I was adding books to my TBR, I put “The Last Time We Said Goodbye” over “The Book of Broken Hearts” solely because of the cover design. So superficial, but you have to whittle the list down somehow!

  21. I recently read Extraordinary Means and I wasn’t too sure what to expect… Especially seen as I didn’t enjoy The Fault In Our Stars as much as some – I think the hype kind of let it down for me. I hadn’t actually heard much about Extraordinary Means, other than the comparisons, and I have to say I actually enjoyed that a teensy bit more than The Fault In Our Stars. Extraordinary Means is a book I’ll be recommending for a while I think!

    Dangerous Girls was amazing – so much better than I anticipated! I love a book that keeps you on your toes. I have yet to read Dangerous Boys but I hear it’s just as good.

    You’ve shared a few books I haven’t read, but have enjoyed the original book of, so I’ll have to check some of them out!

    • I haven’t read Dangerous Boys yet either! Gotta get to that!

      And yesss Extraordinary Means was SO GOOD. I’m surprised it didn’t get talked about more!

  22. Finnikin! I love seeing some Marchetta on this list, I feel like she’s so unappreciated. For that matter, her contemporary stuff would also probably satisfy anyone who’s into Rainbow Rowell or John Green.

  23. I love these recommendation posts!! I have so much to add to my TBR now. I can’t wait to start reading some of these!