Ten Releases I’m Anticipating For The Second Half of 2016

Top Ten Tuesday, as  always, is hosted at my other blog — The Broke & the Bookish

This week’s topic: Top Ten Releases I’m Most Anticipating for the Second Half of 2016

(In the beginning of the year I talked about my most anticipated books for the first half of 2016 AND my most anticipated debuts, so check those out if you are looking for 2016 releases to read now while you wait for these!)

I’m going to start out by saying 3 of my most anticipated releases for the rest of the year are books of a series but they are pretty popular so I want to spend some time talking about other books in my ~official~ list of ten so know that Empire of Storms , A Torch Against the Night and The Midnight Star are like my top 3 for sure!

2016-releases-second-half

And now for my ~official~ top ten releases for the rest of 2016:

fall 2016 book releases

1. Tell The Truth, Shame the Devil by Melina Marchetta: If you’ve followed me for a while you know that Melina is one of my all time fave authors and I am SO excited for a new book from her — even if it’s not a genre (adult mystery) that I read a TON of. I know whatever Melina writes will be incredible so it’s high on my list.

2.  Kids of Appetite by David Arnold: My love for David’s debut Mosquitoland makes it zero percent surprising that I’m clamoring for his sophomore novel! David is such a talented writer who left me hanging on to every word in Mosquitoland…so now I’m excited for new words to hang on to.

3. Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Cordova: “Beautiful Creatures meets Daughter of Smoke and Bone with an infusion of Latin American tradition in this highly original fantasy adventure” and it sounds AWESOME. I’ve been wanting a good witch book!!

4. Leave Me by Gayle Forman: An adult fiction book by one of my all time fave YA authors? YEP YEP YEP. I’ve been trying to wait until closer to the release day to read it but I’m breaking and it’s happening and I hope to the book gods I love it.

5. Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter: I actually hadn’t heard about it until it showed up in my mailbox and it definitely has to make this list because it sounds awesome. Looks like an awesome fairytale retelling with Russian folklore inspiration and an alternate Brooklyn setting!

6. Replica by Lauren Oliver: My Orphan Black loving heart is all like CLOOOOOOONES. This sci-fi from Lauren Oliver sounds so awesome and doubly awesome that it’s two books in one basically with the two POVs which you can either read both or one of the POVs IDK IT SOUNDS AWESOME.

7. Talking As Fast As I Can by Lauren Graham: I rarely read celeb type books but Lauren Graham is one of my fave Hollywood people and I need this so badly.

8. You in Five Acts by Una LaMarche: I love a good book set in competitive performing arts schools!

9.  A Song To Take the World Apart by Zan Romanoff: I try really really hard not to be a sucker for marketing copy that invokes the names of favorite authors but oh man…”Fans of Jandy Nelson’s I’ll Give You the Sun and Leslye Walton’s The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender will be captivated by this contemporary love story with hints of magical realism.” Jandy is an all time fave and I loved The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender and I love contemporary love stories AND I love magical realism soooo yeah I am excited for this one. PLEASE LIVE UP TO ALL THE THINGS I HOPE YOU ARE.

10. Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor: I honestly don’t even know what this one is about based on the blurb but I peeked at the sampler I got and I couldn’t keep reading because I NEED.

 

Sooo yeah I have a lot of reading to do in September and that’s not even all of the books I’m excited about for that month — or for the rest of the fall for that matter. WEIRD that I barely have any contemporary on my list?? I feel like I’m normally very contemporary heavy!

 

 

So tell me…are you excited about any of these? Tell me a book not on my list that you are super excited for!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

About Jamie

Jamie is a 30 year old married lady who is in denial that she's actually that old. When she's not reading you can find her doing Pilates followed by eating ice cream, listening to music with oversized headphones and having adventures with her husband and dog.

Comments

  1. The Midnight Star and Labyrinth Lost are also on my TTT list. I had a chance to read Replica already and I enjoyed the book so much. Definitely alternate reading chapters between Lyra’s and Gemma’s POVS.

  2. Replica sounds amazing. I’m really intrigued by that one. I hope you enjoy these books. 🙂

  3. Well. Lauren Graham has a book coming out….. Take all my moneyyyy! I love her so much! I will absolutely have to pick that one up. I hope it comes out on audio and she narrates!!! I will die. Great list!

  4. Too many books coming out this second half of the year! Personally my most anticipated two releases are Crooked Kingdom and Heartless. September and November can’t come fast enough.

    • AGREE. Publishing needs to cool off and let us have a break to catch up!! And omg HOW did I forget Heartless on my list!!!!!

  5. Oh, I forgot about Tell the Truth, Shame the Devil. I’m so disappointed in myself right now. 😛 Great list though, I hope you get to enjoy all of these.
    Here’s my TTT

    • Happens to the best of us! I realized I left off one I was super anticipating — Heartless by Marissa Meyers. SO MANY BOOKS ON MY BRAIN.

  6. I can’t wait to read Kids of Appetite. And Strange the Dreamer of course cause Laini Taylor duhh. I have an eARC of Vassa in the Night so yay!

  7. Empire of Storms and A Torch Against the Night both made my list too!! I completely forgot about Strange the Dreamer whilst compiling my list (*mentally kicking myself*) but any thing by Laini Taylor is an automatic buy for me! Great list 🙂

  8. Omg Empire of Storms, A Torch Against the Night and The Midnight Star are totally on my list too aghhh I can’t wait to read them. Strange the Dreamer and Vassa in the Night look so good too! <3

  9. I think I requested Vassa In the Night on Netgalley, but I’m not sure. Ha ha. The cover and summary look very familiar. 🙂

    • Haha this happens to me so often! Sometimes people were even talk about it and I’m like AH gotta look this book up ….and then I look and find it was already added to my Goodreads?!?

  10. Oh man all if these sound so good but i just cant quench my thirst for Replica anymore, I need it now! Also A Song To Take The World Apart sounds like it will break my heart. Awesome list :)!

  11. I didn’t know Lauren Graham had a memoir coming out!!! I am so excited now!

    • RIGHT??? Also Anna Kendrick does too and I’m definitely putting that on my list to consider. But LG is for sureeeee

  12. Ahaha, I definitely empathize with your comment on #9! Adding it to my TBR for the same reasons now…Fingers crossed it’s a good one!

  13. Strange the Dreamer isn’t on my Top Ten list this week, but I’m actually so excited to see what Laini Taylor comes up with next! One of the books on my list not on yours is Recreated, book two of Reawakened! It’s by Colleen Houck and she’s one of my favorite authors.

  14. A big YES to Empire of Storms, A Torch Against The Night and Strange The Dreamer! (They’re on my list too) All the others sound great too, Especially Replica and of course Lauren Graham’s book! I still have Someday, Someday, Maybe by her on my shelf but haven’t read it yet, so maybe I should start that one while I’m waiting 🙂

    • You and me both! I had it out from the library and had to take it back unread and I keep meaning to go back out and get it!

  15. What I’m learning from this week’s TTT is that there is so much coming out this year that I had no idea about. NEW MELINA??? I can’t believe I didn’t know!

    • SAAAAAME. I keep seeing things and I’m like OMG HOW DID I NOT KNOW. Admittedly I used to be SO much more in the know than I am these days but still.

      NEW MELINAAAAAA. NOW YOU KNOW AND YOU DON’T HAVE TO WAIT AS LONG FOR IT.

  16. LAUREN GRAHAM IS RELEASING A BOOK. I also rarely read celebrity books, but this one is going to be a to-read for sure! I am also very excited for Replica and Strange the Dreamer, both will be new to me authors, as they sounds very interesting!
    -Monica @ Tomes Project

  17. Labyrinth Lost has such a beautiful cover but I keep forgetting about it. But how great will it be to read about Latin American folklore? so excited!

    • YAS so excited because I feel like I don’t ever see any sort of Latin American folklore in YA! And agree…a beauty of a cover!

  18. I haven’t heard of either Labyrinth Lost or Vassa in the Night -and they sound fantastic! And a Lauren Graham memoir?! So glad I checked out your post!

  19. OOoh good picks!! I can’t wait for The Midnight Star either! I still need to read The Rose Society though! Lol! A Torch Against the Night and Labyrinth Lost are also ones I can’t wait to read!! Great picks!

    Here’s my Tuesday Post

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower 🙂

  20. I’m really interested in the Lauren Graham book too and can’t wait for more Gilmore Girls!

  21. YAAASSSSS! I’m also dying for the top three books, especially!! I hope they’re amazing ^_^ Great list, girly!

    Brittany @ Brittany’s Book Rambles

  22. A torch against the night made my list too. I can’t wait!! Great list.

  23. Vassa in the Night and Strange the Dreamer are also on my list! Can’t wait to read them!

  24. I am definitely veryy excited for Empire of Storms and The Midnight Star, I haven’t actually read the first to A torch Against the Night but it’s on my list.

    As for the other’s I haven’t really heard of any of them! So i’ll have to check them out. I wasn’t a massive fan of Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke & Bone series, but I’m interested in seeing how Strange the Dreamer goes. Replica sounds really weird but super interesting! I wonder if it’s laid out chapter one of one story, next chapter is chapter one of the next story, or if it’s one after the other. I love it when authors try different layouts or different writing styles!

    Jordon @ Simply Adrift

    • Oh man! Excited for you to read Ember in the Ashes! So brutal and such an addictive read.

      I’m really curious about the format of Replica too! It’s so fun to have unique formats! I could be totally wrong but I feel like I heard that it reads all the way through but then if you flip the book then that’s where the other story is?? I don’t know if that makes sense how I explained it. WE SHALL SEE.

  25. I *just* finished reading Queen of Shadows on Saturday and I’m DYING to pick up Empire of Storms! How many more days till it comes out?? I need it now!! I swear, I never want this series (Throne of Glass) to end (and this is coming from someone who doesn’t particularly like YA fiction haha)