Catalog Creepin Spring/Summer 2014: Hachette YA and Adult

Catalog Creepin’ is a feature here at The Perpetual Page-Turner that was inspired by the “Books to Pine For” feature over at Kristi’s blog and really fueled by my obsession with scouring catalogs from my favorite publishers to see what upcoming books I should be adding to my already-ready-to-topple-over To Be Read list. Each Catalog Creepin’ post will spotlight a different catalog from my favorite publishers and their imprints. I won’t be covering all publishers — just my personal favorites whether they be the big honchos or smaller publishing houses.

 

I’m REALLY excited for the upcoming Hachette books (Little Brown, Grand Central) — YA and adult! Apparently Hachette also bought Hyperion but I’m not clear on that sooo I’m going to not include it under Hachette for now until I figure out if it was just the adult that was bought or the children’s side as well.

 

YA new releases 

 

Torn Away - Jennifer Brown

Torn Away by Jennifer Brown (May 6, 2014 – Little Brown Books For Young Readers- Add To Goodreads)

Jersey loses everything in a powerful tornado — her family and her home — and she is sent to live with biological father and grandparents as she comes to terms with her grief. THIS SOUNDS SO GOOD. Love the family dynamics to be explored plus you know I’m a sucker for books dealing with grief.

 

 

 

 

Lies My Girlfriend Told Me - Julia Ann Peters

 

Lies My Girlfriend Told Me by Julie Ann Peters (June 10th, 2014 – Little Brown Books For Young Readers Add To Goodreads)

I liked By the Time You Read This I’ll Be Dead by Julie Ann Peters and I think that this one sounds great! Alix’s girlfriend dies suddenly and as Alix clings to all the mementos she finds out that her girlfriend has text messages from someone else she appeared to be dating at the same time. Alix pretends to be her girlfriend, through texts, to find out more information before she breaks the news.

 

16635620

The Prince of Venice Beach by Blake Nelson (June 3, 2014 – Little Brown Books For Young Readers- Add To Goodreads)

I don’t think I’ve ever read a book featuring a teen runaway but this will be the first! He lives in a treehouse and surfs and generally has no plans until a PI tries to get his help in finding someone who doesn’t want to be found on the streets — a beautiful girl named Reese Abernathy. I CANNOT WAIT. This sounds so good and I kind of love the cover.

 

 

 

 

Illusive Emily Lloyd-Jones

 

Illusive by Emily Lloyd-Jones (July 15, 2014 – Little Brown Books For Young Readers- Add To Goodreads)

A vaccine to stop a virus but accidentally gives some of the population superhero-like powers?? HELL YES. Plus the catalog said Shatter Me was a comp title and you KNOW how much I love that series.

 

 

 

 

 

CCH5

 A Blind Spot For Boys by Justina Chen (August 1, 2014 – Little Brown and Company- Add To Goodreads) *will update cover – this is placeholder*

This one looks a cute romance with some travel but dealing with a hard situation — the main character’s dad is going blind. They take a trip to Machu Picchu so that excites me! I don’t quite understand, from what I read out of the Frankfurt 2013 rights guide, how the romance factors in on this trip but I will update when we get a summary!

 

 

 

 

18607158

 

 

Just Call My Name by Holly Goldberg Sloan (August 5, 2014 – Little Brown Books For Young Readers- Add To Goodreads) *will update cover — placeholder*

I love, love loved I’ll Be There by Holly Goldberg Sloan and this one is a follow-up that takes place about 2 months after (this according to Holly herself). BEST NEWS EVER.

 

 

 

 

cch4

Wildflower by Alecia Whitaker (July 1, 2014 – Poppy- Add To Goodreads) *will update cover*

YES. I am obsessed with the show Nashville and pshh I love T Swift. No shame in my game. Plus I like to “brag” that I saw her when her first album came out in a tiny venue here. SO HIPSTER OF ME. Anyways, a contemporary series revolving around a young country music star a la T. Swift. COUNT ME IN. Please.

 

 

 

The Geography of You and Me Jennifer E. Smith

The Geography of You & Me by Jennifer E. Smith (April 15, 2014 – LBBFYR – Add To Goodreads)

I really loved The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight so I’m really excited for this. If you like cute romances, you need to check out Jennifer E. Smith. The premise of this looks awesome — a guy and a girl meet in a blackout when they are stuck in an elevator, they hang out all night after they are rescued but then they both go their separate ways across the globe but keep in contact.

 

 

 

 

Summer State of Mind - Jen Calonita

Summer State of Mind by Jen Calonita  (April 22, 2014 – Poppy- Add To Goodreads)

YES YES YES. Sleepaway camp. I wanted more of this. I didn’t read the first book in the Whispering Pines series (probably will now) but it seems this can stand alone but does feature some of the same characters. The MC in this one gets sent to Whispering Pines because her dad thinks she’s a spoiled brat in need of a reality check! This cover makes me miss summer already!

 

 

 

 

Adult-New-Releases

 

 

Frog Music by Emma Donoghue

 

Frog Music by Emma Donoghue (April 1, 2014 – Little Brown and Company- Add To Goodreads)

This one is a murder mystery set in San Francisco in 1876 — a summer of a crazy heatwave and smallpox epidemic. A young woman is murdered and her friend, a burlesque dancer, tries to bring her killer to justice. This one sounds so good!

 

 

 

 

The Fever by Megan Abbott

 

The Fever by Megan Abbott (June 17th, 2014 – Little Brown and Company- Add To Goodreads)

I’m fascinated by this one — an epidemic is leashed upon a quiet suburban town and the town comes together but the hysteria threatens to break apart family and friends and to unearth secrets.

 

 

 

 

 

The Matchmaker by Elin Hilderbrand

 


The Matchmaker by Elin Hilderbrand (June 24, 2014 – Little Brown and Company- Add To Goodreads)

This one looks like a tearjerker! The MC has found out that she has pancreatic cancer and she wishes to use her matchmaking skills, she’s matched 54 couples successfully, before she leaves her loved ones. She gets to work on finding love for her husband, her lover and her daughter who is already engaged but to the wrong person.

 

 

 

 

9781455548347_287ac

Home Leave by Brittany Sonnenberg (June 3, 2014 – Grand Central Publishing- Add To Goodreads)

I love reading about ex-pats so I’m excited for this one as a family has moved around because of the husband’s career and everyone in the family has adjusted differently to all the moving and then in a wake of a tragedy. Sounds like an interesting story about family and about sisterhood as the two children of the family use each other as their only stability.

 

 

 

 

 The Girls of August by Anne Rivers Siddons

The Girls of August by Anne Rivers Siddons (July 8, 2014 – Grand Central Publishing- Add To Goodreads)

I love friendship novels so this one is a definite on my list — ever since they were in their 20’s, four friends would spend a week at the beach together. One of the girls tragically dies and the remaining three drift further apart until years later when they are reunited.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

17235026

The Girl With All The Gifts M.R. Carey (March 27, 2014 – Orbit- Add To Goodreads)

I honestly don’t know EXACTLY what this is about but the catalog says, “The Girl With All the Gifts is a terrifying, heartbreaking, genre-defying thriller about hope and humanity and a little girl who tries to save the world” and that excites me. Then it says it’s perfect for fans of Stephen King, Justin Cronin and Neil Gaiman sooo there’s the cherry on top. Definitely on my list.

 

 

 

 

 

Which ones are you most excited for?? Did you discover any from my list you’ve never heard of? Any other Spring/Summer 2014 releases from Hachette or any of their imprints that may have flown off my radar? Little Brown For Young Readers 2014 Spring/Summer catalog is especially exciting to me this season!

Save The Date For: When You Were Here by Daisy Whitney

To learn more about why I started doing this Save The Date feature and how it differs from my reviews — go here!


when-you-were-here-daisy-whitney

* Release date according to Amazon

When You Were Here by Daisy Whitney

Pre-Order It | Add to Goodreads

What When You Where Here Is  About: Three weeks before Danny’s graduation, his mom loses her battle with cancer and Danny becomes an orphan.  Amidst his grief and hopelessness, a directionless Danny has to try to make it through his graduation and deliver a hopeful Valedictorian speech while trying to make adult decisions about what to do with their home and his mother’s things. On top of it all, the girl who broke his heart by just shutting him out of her life suddenly reappears in his life. When the manager of his family’s apartment in Japan, where Danny’s mom had spending some of her final months for treatment, sends a letter that reveals to him that maybe he didn’t know all about his mother’s final months and why she seemed so happy in them. With nagging questions and sense of purposelessness that has made him numb, Danny takes a trip around the world to Japan to if he can find the answers and reconnect with his mother through these memories.

Why You Should Be Saving  The Date:

1. This book is BEAUTIFUL though it will steamroll right through your heart. It was an intensely emotional book in so many ways. I knew going into it I would connect with it on a personal level having lost my mother to cancer  but there were whole other levels that I found myself connecting to it and I certainly don’t think you need to have experienced a loss like this for this book to shake you up. So don’t be frightened and think it’s just another “grief” story. It’s much more than that though obviously the profound loss is a big part. Luckily Daisy Whitney has this ability to so subtly make sure, upon finishing, that your heart is in tact; stitched back up by Danny’s story of loss and love and how it takes strength and courage to get through both.

2. Danny’s time in Japan stirred up the travel bug in me. I loved that part of his very emotional journey was also a physical one set in Tokyo. As he looks for answers and tries to feel the spirit of his mom in a city they loved so much, Daisy Whitney makes you feel like you are at the fish market, or ambling along the twisted streets or smelling the cherry blossoms. I loved exploring the city through Danny’s eyes and especially with Kana. She was such a bright and spunky character that just added this whole lightness to the dark that Danny was feeling.

3. Daisy Whitney’s writing is flawless. Whether it was the dialogue or the descriptions of Tokyo or passages showing Danny’s grief — it was just so flawless and natural and I just floated right through the story. I just really love the way she writes!

Who Should Save The  Date: Fans of contemporary YA, Fans of stories that seriously give you ALL OF THE FEELS — not just make you cry but make you feel hopeful or in love or intense mourning alongside the character.

Have you read this one? Are you excited for it?? Putting it on your TBR list? Have you read Daisy Whitney’s previous works? I have them on my shelf but haven’t yet read them! Be on the lookout for my FULL review coming closer to the release date.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...