What I Plan To Read This Spring

Happy first day of Spring, you guys!!! GOODBYE WINTER GOODBYE. I’m so ready for nice weather….I swear I will lose it if we have a spring snowstorm. We haven’t even had a bad winter at all but I just am not into winter at all and I love the sunshine and comfortable temperatures.

ANYWAYS…this spring will be a big reading season for me as it will be the last season I have before I will suddenly have a baby attached to me and less time to read. The countdown to July is on and, in addition to doing lots of other things, I really am trying to enjoy these last uninterrupted reading moments I’m so lucky to have right now.

One of the BIG reading goals I have for this Spring is to READ BOOKS THAT PHYSICALLY TAKE UP SPACE ON MY DAMN SHELF. That means, few library trips and bookstore shopping sprees! Also means saving the books on my kindle for when I am up feeding a baby and only have one hand to use to read. We have very little storage space in our apartment for the baby and I need to get rid of books off my shelves so we can use one of them to be able to put little cube bins of baby stuff.

So, let’s talk about 10 books from my shelves that I definitely plan to read this Spring!

[Keep Reading]

Top Ten Books I Plan To Read This Fall

Top Ten Tuesday, as  always, is hosted at my other blog — The Broke & the Bookish

This week’s topic: Top Ten Books On My Fall 2014 To-Be-Read List

TOPTEN1

1. Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver: I KNOW I KNOW. I can’t believe I haven’t read this either. More embarrassingly  I bought this when it first came out.

2. The Miseducation of Cameron Post by Emily M. Danforth: I’ve had this book on my shelf for a while but I’ve seen some talk about this book being challenged or something and so I want to give my support and read it.

3. Vision In White by Nora Roberts: My lovely friend Jen sent this to me and it’s time to get to it! This cover is BEAUTIFUL.

top ten fall ya bookstoptenv

4. Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch: Been really digging fantasy so we’ll try a new release! A kingdom is conquered, its people are enslaved and magic is taken away. Until there is talk of a way to get the magic back!

5. Glory O’Brien’s History of the Future by AS King: A.S King is a brilliant writer and this one sounds so goooood. The main character develops the ability to see the infinite past and future — and the future looks AWFUL for the world. She doesn’t want this future to come true so she tries to figure out HOW to make sure it doesn’t.

6. Even In Paradise by Chelsey Philpot: This books just screams a Jamie book amirite? A girl becomes friends with the former senator’s daughter when she shows up as the new girl in school. She’s thrown into Julia’s world and sparks fly with Julia’s brother. Also, A SECRET TRAGEDY.

7. Forbidden by Kimberley Griffiths Little: LOVE STORY IN ANCIENT MESOPOTAMIA. THAT IS ALL.

8. The Walled City by Ryan Graudin: A lawless labyrinth run by crime lords and overrun by street gangs and the main characters try to escape it!

Toptenwinter

9. Playlist For The Dead by Michelle Falkoff: A boy tries to figure out why his best friend committed suicide by listening to a playlist that he left for him.

10. Twisted Fate by Norah Olson: The new boy next door brings very differing feelings to these two sisters — one crushes on him and one thinks his mysterious ways screams psychopath and tries to protect her sister. She finds herself drawn to him too and simultaneously right and wrong about the things she thinks about him.  Says for fans of We Were Liars & Mara Dyer soooo YAY.

 

 

So tell me…what books are at the TOP of your list to read for the Fall? What book do you think should be my priority??

10 Books On My To-Be-Read List For Spring 2014

Top Ten Tuesday, as  always, is hosted at my other blog — The Broke & the Bookish

This week’s topic: Top Ten Books On My Spring TBR

Spring! I am welcoming Spring this week and will bribe her (I guess it could be a him?) with all sorts of brownies if she breaks all ties with Winter! I’m excited for warm weather and flowers and Spring is definitely the time I start reading some summer-y books!

I failed and read only 3 out of the 10 I said I would in my Winter TBR. FAIL WHALE. But I can do better this time!

TTTTT


TTT3
TTT2

the rosie project

1. My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick: Everyone says this is a ME book and I don’t know WHY I haven’t read it yet but I’ve heard nothing but amazing things about it. My Secret Santa got it for me this year so I HAVE to get to it!

2. Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly: I bought this book when it first came out, went to signing and then never read it. I’ve heard it’s a great historical fiction novel and I’m fascinated by the story!

3. The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion: The lovely Jen gift this to me and she’s raved about it! Plus I really want to get back to more of my adult fiction roots! (Oh hey right now it’s only $1.99 for your Kindle!)

spring-2014-teen-releases

TTT4

TTT6

TTT6a

ttt7

4. Sekret by Lindsey Smith: I picked this up at ALA and am super excited for it! COLD WAR ESPIONAGE!

5. Far From You by Tess Sharpe: This one was on my most anticipated debut novels for 2014 so OBVIOUSLY this is high priority! I’m interested because it sounds very different!

6. Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson: If you know me, Morgan Matson is one of my FAVE contemporary YA authors. I’ve been holding off reading this until a little closer so I plan to start SOON!

7. Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Page: Wizard of Oz retelling! OH YEAH. And Dorothy is a bit cray craaaay!

Summer-2014-reads

TTT8

TTT9

TTT10

8. Lies We Tell Ourselves by Robin Talley: YAY historical fiction! Also, civil rights era which I’ve been wanting in YA!

9. Let’s Get Lost by Adi Alsaid: This was another on my most anticipated debut novels for 2014 list! Road trip but the vague summary makes me veeeerryyy intrigued!

10. The Vanishing Season by Jodi Lynn Anderson: I LOVED Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson (awesome Peter Pan retelling)  and I have been dying for this one!! SERIAL KILLER on the loose!

 

 

So tell me… What books are on your high priority list for Spring 2014? Have you read any of these ones? Which one do you think I should make priority numero uno??

Top Ten Books On My Winter TBR List

I had planned to be all on top of things and productive in the days leading up to Christmas so that I would have posted this for Top Ten Tuesday (hosted at my other blog — The Broke & the Bookish) BUUUUUT things happen and that wasn’t one of them. So I bring this Top Ten Tuesday freebie to you on WEDNESDAY!

top-books-to-read-winter-2013books-to-read-teen

1. Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein: This was pretty much on EVERYBODY’s best list for the End of Year book survey sooo I’m bumping it up on priority PLUS I’m reading it in January for Forever YA’s book club pick with the NEW Philly burbs chapter of the FYA book club. I don’t know how this one didn’t really get on my radar until everyone kept raving about it this year considering I love historical fiction. Hopefully I love this like everyone else did! PSH and I went to go buy this one on Christmas Eve and it was SOLD OUT.

2. Cinder by Marissa Meyer: Another pick that EVERYONE seems to have on their best of 2012 book lists AND the sequel was on everyone’s 2013 most anticipated reads list so I’m on it! I honestly had heard of this one before it came out but I didn’t think it would be my thing but I could be wrong!

3. Unearthly by Cynthia Hand: I’m long overdue to start this series but I got picked to be the Epic Read’s newbie for this series for their End Is Near program they are doing for book series that are finishing up. You should come chat with me there about the series OR read it with me! Please please please so I have other people who haven’t read it to talk to!!  There’s also some other great series they are doing this for too so check it out if this one doesn’t suit your fancy!

4. The Miseducation of Cameron Post by Emily Danforth: I’ve heard nothing but wonderful things about this book and the lovely Epic Reads fairies gifted it to me because they loved it so much! Cannot wait for an excellent contemporary!

5. Love & Other Perishable Items by Laura Buzo: I’m currently reading Laura Buzo’s book Holier Than Thou and starting to get into it now around page 80 but I’ve heard great things about Love & Other Perishable Items so I’m going to aim to read this around Valentine’s Day.

6.  When You Were Here by Daisy Whitney: I AM SO EXCITED TO READ THIS! I am borrowing this one and nearly died when I actually had it in my hands. It was a pick for my Catalog Creepin post and one of the ones I’m most excited for! When my friend Heidi sent me this she also included a package of tissues. PREPARING MYSELF NOW!

7. Out Of The Easy by Ruta Sepytus: One of my most anticipated reads for 2013! I meant to start it as soon as it arrived but I have the book attention span of a gnat so I got distracted by some other new arrival I’m sure.

8. Requiem by Lauren Oliver: EEEEE. Remember when I nearly peed my pants when this showed up? Yeah, I’m going to start this soon but I’m SO SO SO SOOO nervous for the end of this trilogy!

9. Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi: Oh dear how I loved Shatter Me so I’m excited that I won this from Epic Reads! I’m extremely nervous because I have been seeing lots of Warner Love after people have read this one and I just did NOT get any warm and fuzzies from him in Shatter Me!

10. Mila 2.0 by Debra Driza:  Another one of my most anticipated teen books of 2013! It sounds so different and like a really promising page turner!

 

Those are the ones that are my MUST GET TO BOOKS for this season. Which ones of these are books you have read? Which ones are on YOUR tbr list for this Winter? Let me know what you think!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...