Catalog Creepin’ — Random House & Imprints Fall 2013 Catalog

Catalog Creepin’ is a feature here at The Perpetual Page-Turner that was inspired by the “Books to Pine For” feature over at Kristi’s blog and really fueled by my obsession with scouring catalogs from my favorite publishers to see what upcoming books I should be adding to my already-ready-to-topple-over To Be Read list. Each Catalog Creepin’ post will spotlight a different catalog from my favorite publishers and their imprints. I won’t be covering all publishers — just my personal favorites whether they be the big honchos or smaller publishing houses.

YOUNG ADULT

 

 

Two Boys Kissing by David Levithan

 
Two Boys Kissing by David Levithan (August 27th 2013 – Add To Goodreads)

Well, obviously I haven’t met a David Levithan book I haven’t loved. You have read my reviews for Every Day, Dash & Lily, The Lover’s Dictionary and Will Grayson, Will Grayson yes? So naturally I’m anticipating this but it sounds cute — two boys are taking part in a 32 hour kissing marathon to set a Guinness n

 

 

 

The Waking Dark

 

The Walking Dark by Robin Wasserman (September 10th  2013 – Add To Goodreads)

I’m so excited!! It’s so hard to find a good horror novel in YA and this one sounds SO GOOD. A small town experiences a killing spree — 12 people dead in a matter of hours and five people are the murderers. All of them take their own life except one girl and she can’t explain why she, a seemingly normal girl like the rest of them, murdered people. I can’t wait to know what is up in this town!! Sounds evil!

 

 

 

Gated by Amy Christine Parker

 

Gated by Amy Christine Parker (August 27th 2013 – Add To Goodreads)

This one sounds interesting! A girl and her family end up fleeing to this gated community, ruled by someone named Pioneer, sort of thing after 9/11 to escape the evil in the world. They have been told the world is going to end and they must fight all the people who will try to flock there.

 

 

 

 

Tandem by Anna Jarzab

 

Tandem by Anna Jarzab (October 8th 2013-  Add to  Goodreads)

I have Anna Jarzab’s other books on my TBR list and I’ve heard wonderful things about her writing and plan to get to them soon! This one is science fiction and has a parallel life element so you know I’m excited because I find that so fascinating!

 

 

 

 

cc5

 

Loud Awake and Lost by Adele Griffin (November 12th 2013 – Add To Goodreads)

Ember is in a horrendous car accident, sustaining terrible injuries, and can’t remember a good chunk of her life leading up to that accident but nobody in her life will clue her in as to the details of where she was going or what happened. As she searches for the answers she finds her old self  falling away with the pieces she puts together. Sounds mysterious and so good!

 

 

 

 

The Midnight Dress by Karen Foxlee

 

The Midnight Dress by Karen Foxlee (October 8th 2013 – Add To Goodreads)

This one is an Aussie book and I believe it has already released there in this year? It sounds like a good contemporary novel mixed with a bit of a mystery. And this cover is so pretty!!

 

 

 

 

Premeditated by Josie McQuien

 

Premeditated by Josin L. McQuein (October 8th, 2013 – Add  To Goodreads)

Josin L. McQuein also wrote Arclight which is coming out next month and I plan to pick up soon! This one sounds SO GOOD. The MC’s cousin slit her wrists and so she reads her diary for any clues as to why she did it. She stumbles upon the answers and decides to go after the boy who made her do it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Chasing Shadows by Swati Avasthi

Chasing Shadows by Swati Avasthi (August  6th 2013 – Add To Goodreads)

Three best friends are torn apart by a murder and the remaining two, Holly and Savitri, find themselves left behind. Holly decides to hunt down their friend’s killer and Savitri is scared Holly is spiraling out of control in her grief and desire to find the killer — and leaving her behind.

 

 

 

 

 

 

ADULT

Ostrich by Matt Greene

 

 

 Ostrich by Matt Greene (September 24th 2013 – Add To Goodreads)

This one said “for fans of Wonder R.J. Palacio and The Curious Incident of the Dog in Nighttime.” I haven’t read Wonder but I’ve heard amazing things and plan to read it but I LOVED The Curious Incident. I love stories about precocious kids and this sounds GREAT! The MC is 12 and he had brain surgery to stop seizures that he has been having. Everyone around him has been acting strange so he and his friend set out to find out why. Think this will be a good crossover novel!

 

 

 

ccadult3

 

At The Bottom Of Everything by Ben Dolnick (September 17th 2013 – Add to Goodreads)

Adam and Thomas had always been best friends but after “the incident” Adam ended his friendship with Thomas. Ten years later, without any contact with Thomas, Adam gets a frantic phone call from Thomas’s mom needing his help. I just love stories about friendship and I’m so curious as to what broke their friendship up.

 

 

 

No covers but I want:

Chasing Chaos: My Decade In and Out of Humanitarian Aid by Jessica Alexander — I love non-fiction and this intrigues me!
Mother, Mother by Koren Zailckas: This one really sounds intriguing and it’s narrated by members of a family torn apart by one member’s addiction to drugs that land her in the mental ward.

 

Which ones are you most excited for?? Any other Fall 2013 releases from Random House & their imprints that may have flown off my radar?

Catalog Creepin’ — HarperCollins Fall 2013 Catalog

Catalog Creepin’ is a feature here at The Perpetual Page-Turner that was inspired by the “Books to Pine For” feature over at Kristi’s blog and really fueled by my obsession with scouring catalogs from my favorite publishers to see what upcoming books I should be adding to my already-ready-to-topple-over To Be Read list. Each Catalog Creepin’ post will spotlight a different catalog from my favorite publishers and their imprints. I won’t be covering all publishers — just my personal favorites whether they be the big honchos or smaller publishing houses.

YOUNG ADULT

 

 

Asylum by Madeleine Roux

 
Asylum by Madeleine Roux (August 27th 2013 – Add To Goodreads)

THIS LOOKS SO CREEPY. Hidden secrets in an old mental asylum?? Plus apparently there are photos and letters integrated into it and, though I haven’t read it but it’s on my TBR list, it’s likened a bit to Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. Seems like a good read for people who like creepy mystery types and maybe a little WTFery!

 

 

 

The Burning Sky trilogy by Sherry Thomas

 

The Burning Sky by Sherry Thomas (September 17th  2013 – Add To Goodreads)

I’m super new to the fantasy genre but this one sounds really good! It says for fans of Kristin Cashore & Cinda Williams Chima who I obviously need to read first now that I’m no longer afraid of fantasy anymore!

 

 

 

Not A  Drop To Drink by Mindy McGinnis

 

Not A Drop To Drink by Mindy McGinnis (September 10th 2013 – Add To Goodreads)

This sounds so good! I LOVE survival type stories. One of my biggest fears in life is that the water runs out and it kind of sounds like that’s the case in this future story. The MC, Lynn, has a pond that she defends and protects — never needing to go to the outside — but signs of outsiders arriving threaten her. I think this one is going to be GREAT!

 

 

 

3:59 by Gretchen McNeil

3:59 by Gretchen McNeil (September 17th 2013-  Add to  Goodreads)

I just have this obsession with parallel world/lives types stories, you guys, so I’m so glad it’s becoming a THING (though let’s be honest…I’ll probs tire of it after a while). This one sounds so good and from reading Ten by Gretchen McNeil I know she does suspense well SO YAY!

 

 

 

 

The Brokenhearted by Amelia Kahaney

 

The Brokenhearted by Amelia Kahaney (October 8th 2013 – Add To Goodreads)

All I saw was that the girl lives in a Gotham style Chicago and becomes a superhero/bionic girl. UM YEAH. I added that ish so fast. I also saw a blurb that said The Dark Knight meets Cinder so that sounds interesting!

 

 

 

 

 

Hideous Love by Stephanie Hemphill

Hideous Love by Stephanie Hemphill (October 1st 2013 – Add To Goodreads)

I LOVE FRANKENSTEIN. I am so fascinated by the author of Frankenstein — Mary Shelley. Always have been. This is a free-verse novel about her love story that inspired her to write Frankenstein.

 

 

 

 

Across A Star-Swept Sea by Diana Peterfreund

 

Across A Star-Swept Sea by Diana Peterfreund (October 15th, 2013 – Add  To Goodreads)

OMG OMG OMG OMG! First of all, this book comes out on my birthday. YES! Secondly, you know much I LOVED For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfreund so I am over the moon about this one. It’s set in the same world as FDSTS but different characters and on a different island….and this one is a retelling of The Scarlet Pimpernel. I honestly don’t know what else you could say about this book to make me more excited!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Image1gg

How To Love by Katie Cotugno (October 1st 2013 – Add To Goodreads)

I’m not going to lie — I’m pretty much always nervous about pregnancy in teen lit but I’m giving this a chance! The MC has a whirlwind, complicated romance with a guy she’s always loved but whom she never thought had ever glanced her way. He mysteriously leaves town and she’s pregnant. Three years later, she’s handling being a mom and then the guy walks back in her life.

 

 

 

ADULT

We Are Water by Wally Lamb - new Wally Lamb book

 

 

 We Are Water by Wally Lamb (October 29th 2013 – Add To Goodreads)

I really enjoyed Wally Lamb’s The Hour I First Believed. He writes these amazingly layers stories about family and love and life and this one sounds like it is no exception. The MC has been a mother and wife for 27 years until she drops a bombshell on her family that she has fallen in love with a woman and they plan to be wed. The upcoming marriage brings up a whole host of questions and secrets and truth as everyone is trying to move forward and understand what was going all those years before.

 

 

 

9780060779634_0_Cover

 

Help for the Haunted by John Searles (September 17th 2013 – Add to Goodreads)

This sounds so good! Sylvie’s parents have an unusual occupation — they help the haunted move into a place of peace. One night they get a call in the middle of the night and they pack little Sylvie up into the car while they go meet someone at a church only to fall asleep and wake up to gunfire and the loss of her parents. The book seems to flip back and forth from that time to the present as Sylvie is a little older and living with her older sister and trying to grapple with this loss and figure out what exactly happened to her parents.

 

 

9780062283016_0_Cover

Dead Set by Richard Kadrey (October 29th 2013 – Add to Goodreads)

I’m loving ghost-related novels and this sounds so interesting! Zoe and her mom move to a new city after dad passes away. Things are hard and she finds escape in her dreams — a place where she is able to spend time with her lost brother. Something seems to be lurking in her dreams and threatening she and her brother which leads her to a used record shop where there is a portal to the dead and an offer for her to be able to make contact with her dad..but it comes with a price. Zoe struggles with how far she is willing to go and how much she is willing to give just to see her father.

 

 

No Cover & want a little more info about: Early Decision by Lacey Crawford

Which ones are you most excited for?? Any other 2013 releases from HarperCollins & their imprints that may have flown off my radar? ( I realize Divergent #3 comes out…um yeah..I’ll work on reading Divergent. I promise).

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...