New To The Queue {23}

New things to read, watch, listen to

New To the Queue is a semi-monthly thing around here wherein I give you a tiny glimpse into some of the books, movies, tv shows and bands I’ve recently added to my never ending queue of things to read/watch/listen to. For past posts, go here!

[Keep Reading]

If We Were Having Coffee

I saw a life coach I love, Ashley, do a post entitled If We Were Having Coffee and I decided to take her lead and do one myself in November 2013 because I loved it and sometimes I feel like we forget that there is a whole life behind the people that write and read blogs. I got such a great response to my initial post so I made it a  reoccurring thing for the past couple of years and do it when I feel so inclined!

 

Processed with VSCOcam with x1 preset

So, grab your coffee/beverage of your choice and meet me for a chat. Currently I’m drinking a chocolate peanut butter and banana smoothie.

 

If we were having coffee….I’d tell you that I’m currently reading This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab but I’m not too far into it. I’d ask you what you are currently reading!

 

If we were having coffee.… I’d tell you that my new baby nephew was born on July 8th — he’s healthy and adorable and Genevieve and Adela just adore him. Seriously, being an aunt is the coolest. I was thinking about how when I was growing up I wasn’t always geographically close to my aunts and uncles so I don’t have a ton of memories with them which is sad (though the ones I have are great) and then I got sad that I’m not really close with any of them now. It definitely made me want to reach out to my aunts and uncles but also it made me really want to continue to make sure I’m a part of the lives of these kids. I’ve always kind of wanted to move away from the Philly area for a new adventure but my heart breaks every time I think about leaving them and not having this relationship with them where they see me AT LEAST once a month. The relationship I have with them is just so special and I just love them so freaking much. I’d ask you if you are an aunt or an uncle or if you have a close relationship with yours.

[Keep Reading]

What I’ve Been Watching

Oh man I haven’t done one of these posts since JANUARY of this year soooo I honestly can’t remember everything that I’ve seen since then so I’m going to do my best to recall some stuff.

 

Movies I Watched

 

 

HappyThankYouMorePlease

HappyThankYouMorePlease

“On the way to meet a publisher, aspiring novelist Sam encounters Rasheen alone on the subway. While struggling to decide whether to send the young boy back to foster care, Sam looks after Rasheen and learns a few important life lessons.”

I’m not going to lie I don’t really remember WHY I liked this one so much because it’s been a while but I REALLY liked this. I rated it 3.5 stars on Netflix sooo I clearly enjoyed it. I will say I thought Josh Radnor was pretty great here. If you like quirky indie rom coms, give this a try! It’s no Garden State but it definitely gave me those vibes.

Rating: 4/5

[Keep Reading]

Giveaway: Baby Doll by Hollie Overton — a thriller to be added to your Summer TBR!

While lighter contemporary reads tend to be my jam in the summer or on the beach/at the pool, the other type of book I REALLY love to pack in my beach bag is a thriller or mystery. So when I was approached to possible receive a copy for review and to giveaway on my site, in partnership with Redhook, I was excited!

Baby Doll looks exactly kind of like the thrillers that keep me on the edge of my seat and I’m SO excited to crack it open soon — especially because I’ve been having the hardest time concentrating on reading this summer and I KNOW a thriller will be just what I need to jumpstart my reading.

So let me tell you a little about it and then we can get straight away to the giveaway!

 

 

ABOUT

Baby Doll Hollie Overton

Published July 12

Amazon  // Barnes & Noble // Goodreads

Escape was just the beginning.

Held captive for eight years, Lily has grown from a teenager to an adult in a small basement prison. Her daughter Sky has been a captive her whole life. But one day their captor leaves the deadbolt unlocked.

This is what happens next… to Lily, to her twin sister, to her mother, to her daughter—and to her captor.

For fans of Gone Girl and Girl on the Train, BABY DOLL is the most tense thriller you will read this year.

“What a compulsive read! A brilliant first novel that kept me transfixed and entertained until the very last page.” — Tess Gerritsen, New York Times bestselling author of Die Again 

 

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

HollIieOvertonPhoto

*credit: Heather Overton*

 

A tense, unique psychological thriller, Baby Doll is a remarkable first novel from TV writer Hollie Overton, who has worked Cold Case, The Client List, and the new Shadowhunters on ABC Family.

Debut author Hollie Overton was raised by her single mother, and Hollie—an identical twin herself—draws on her unique childhood experiences for her first novel, Baby Doll. Overton’s father was a member of the notorious Overton gang in Austin, Texas, and spent several years in prison for manslaughter. Hollie is a television writer and resides in Los Angeles.

Visit Hollie Overton’s official website //Follow Hollie Overton on Twitter or like on Facebook

 

GIVEAWAY

One (1) winner receives a hardcover copy of BABY DOLL.

Giveaway open to US addresses only.
Prizing and samples provided by
Redhook.

Winner will have 72 hours to claim their prize or a new winner will be selected.

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

What I’ve Been Reading Lately

book-recommendations-wibr

 

 

I have a feeling this summer is going to be a lot of me doing shorter book talks especially since, as I talked about here, I’m going to maybe post a little less during the summer.

 

The Memory Book Lara Avery

The Memory Book by Lara Avery

I received this for review consideration but this in no way affected my opinions.

[Keep Reading]

When Everything Feels Heavy

when-everything-feels-heavy

I know the darkness has always been there in the world but I feel like I’ve felt it weighing heavier on me more than usual lately. Maybe it’s that I’m paying more attention to current events and things. Maybe it’s the way I see everything on the internet so it feels all up in my face. Maybe things really ARE just especially bad right now more than usual. Whatever the case…these days I just feel heaviness. Like I have “heavy boots” to steal a phrase from a book I love. It’s murder and injustice and terrorism and garbage people and hate. So many awful headlines. So many scary current events.

[Keep Reading]

Whatcha In The Mood For? // Comfort Read, Underrated Fantasy & #GirlPower Feels

book recommendations for what type of book you are looking for

 

It’s that time where I dole out recommendations according to what kind of mood you might be in at random — whether that be an actual mood or a specific type of book. Check out past Whatcha In the Mood For recs!

 

I would LOVE LOVE LOVE if you could also leave some recs for my categories in the comments to further help people looking for books that fit! Also, have a good idea for a category or something you have been looking for? Leave it in the comments!

 

Wanting a new YA fantasy without a ton of hype?

The Imposter Queen

The Imposter Queen by Sarah Fine

Why?  The Impostor Queen is book 1 in a series I cannot WAIT to really get into and is totally deserving of hype…but didn’t seem to get a ton of hype the way some new YA fantasies have recently! It has great world-building, I really enjoyed the magical elements and it kept me thoroughly engaged! Book 2 comes out January 2017 so you’ve got plenty of time to be prepared because I have a feeling book 2 is going to be even more amazing considering all the twists and turns in this one.  (Read even more thoughts on The Impostor Queen here)

[Keep Reading]

Ten Facts About Me

Top Ten Tuesday, as  always, is hosted at my other blog — The Broke & the Bookish

This week’s topic: Top Ten Facts About Me

 

I feel like I had such a hard time with this one. Because 1) I feel like if you’ve read this blog for any amount of time that I’ve written in in the past 6 years you know a decent amount ABOUT me and 2) this exercise makes me feel completely boring. Like WHY DO I NOT HAVE INTERESTING FUN THINGS TO SHARE? Like that I’ve punched a shark in the face and lived to tell about it or that my second cousin is Taylor Swift.

I tried to make a mix of things to share for those who haven’t been around these parts ever/for long and things maybe you didn’t know even if you’ve been around this blog for the past 6 years.

1. I hated my husband when I first met him.

No really…I REALLY could not stand him. Once I started to not hate him I tried to hook him up with my sister because I felt like he was more her type. You can read more about that here. But here we are like 10 years later so.

[Keep Reading]

Book Talk: One True Loves by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Book Talk: One True Loves by Taylor Jenkins ReidOne True Loves by Taylor Jenkins Reid
Published by Simon & Schuster, Washington Square Press on June 2016
Genres: Adult Contemporary
Also by this author: After I Do, Maybe in Another Life
Format: eARC
Source: For Review
Amazon
Goodreads

I received this book for review consideration from the publisher. This in no way swayed my opinion of the book. Pinky swear!

 

 

 

Want an “at a glance” look at what I thought? Check out my Review On A Post-It or my “Final Thought”

 

A1

 

Emma marries her high school sweetheart and they spend their 20’s loving each other and traveling the world and building a life together. When he goes missing after a helicopter accident and is presumed dead, Emma’s world crumbles. She moves back home to the town and life she didn’t want, grieves and then finally attempts to put her life back together. Years later she opens herself back up to love with someone from her past and falls in love and gets engaged. And then she gets the call….the one saying her first love and husband has been found after all these years and she’s torn between her husband and her fiance.

 

 

a2everything-hurts

[Keep Reading]

Ten Underrated Books I Love

Top Ten Tuesday, as  always, is hosted at my other blog — The Broke & the Bookish

This week’s topic: Top Ten Books I Love With Goodreads Ratings Under 2000

I love me a good underrated gem! Sometime I’ll get on Goodreads and be like WUT how does this book have so few ratings?? WHY HAVE NOT ENOUGH PEOPLE READ IT!! So with topic I’ll note I left off things that JUST got published within the past couple months because they are so new.

1. Just Visiting by Dahlia Adler

Just Visiting Dahlia Adler

 

I really don’t understand how this has so few ratings because this book was soooooo fantastic. If you like contemporary YA, highly rec.

What I Said About It: “It’s just such an authentic story about friendship and love and that confusing time when that next stage (post-high school) is staring you right in the face. So compelling and so compulsively readable! I really just want to follow the next few years of their lives if I’m honest!” READ MORE

[Keep Reading]

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...